Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University Office of Emergency Management

Mission Statement:

To develop and administer a comprehensive emergency management program to encompass the main WSU campus, as well as regional campuses, research stations and sites throughout the state. This program will work in partnership with academic colleges and departments, operating divisions and units, and the staff, faculty and students of WSU in conjunction with federal, state and local jurisdictions to protect lives and safety of students, faculty staff, visitors & animals; safeguard critical infrastructure, facilities, environment, essential records & research; and resume operations as soon as practicable.


Values and Goals:

To take a look further into the Washington State University Office of Emergency Management’s Values and Goals, please see our Strategic Plan.


Establishment:

Emergency management functions in many forms have taken place at WSU for many years. Efforts by the Public Safety Office, Environmental Health and Safety, Business and Finance and other departments and units established the groundwork for current emergency management functions. In 2004 it was determined an office and personnel specifically dedicated to the tasks associated with effective emergency management for an institution of the scale and scope of WSU was needed. The Emergency Management unit was established under the Division of Business and Finance to address the increasing needs of WSU to meet accepted standards for emergency planning, response, recovery, and mitigation throughout the University’s statewide presence.

NAME PHONE AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY
Bill Gardner

wgardner@wsu.edu

335-4484 or 8548 Director of Public Safety and Chief of the WSU Police Department
Michael Gaffney

mjgaffney@wsu.edu

335-7471 Director of The Office of Emergency Management
WSU Pullman Emergency Response Unit Directors
Bill Gardner

wgardner@wsu.edu

335-8548 Chief, WSU Police Department
Tom Ambrosi

tambrosi@wsu.edu

335-1642 Director, IT Communication and Network Services
Jean Ann Cloran

jcloran@wsu.edu

335-7057 Director, Radiation Safety Office
Dan Costello

dan.costello@wsu.edu

335-9000 Assistant Vice President, Facility Operations
Dwight Hagihara

hagihara@wsu.edu

335-3051 Director, Environmental Health and Safety Office
Regional Campus Emergency Management Contacts
WSU Spokane:
Jonathan Schad                         schad@wsu.edu
(509) 358-7991 Director of Facilities Operations
WSU Vancouver:
Dave Stephenson stephend@vancouver.wsu.edu
(360) 546-9004 Lieutenant/Manager Department of Public Safety and Police Services
WSU Tri-Cities

Scott Tomren             stomren@tricity.wsu.edu

WSU Everett

Paul Pitre                                    pep@wsu.edu

(509) 372-7163

 

 

(425) 405-1719

Environmental Health & Safety Coordinator

 

 

Chancellor, WSU Everett